Day 12 – Artichoke Heart

Born and raised in California I grew up eating artichokes. Back in “those” days they were cheap and grew like weeds. They definitely aren’t for everyone, but whether you like them stuffed, fried, dipped in melted butter (or mayo, as I was raised, please don’t judge 🙂 they are really good, and good for you, and the heart is the best. So for my very first art lesson today I choose to sketch an artichoke. As I was drawing I was, as I guess many artists typically do, thinking about my subject, and began to make some correlations between people and this interesting vegetable. Both have many layers, some soft, some thorny, and each has a heart, which is the best part.

Canon EOS 60D EF50mm f/1.4 USM ƒ/1.4  50.0 mm 1/1250  1600

Canon EOS 60D
EF50mm f/1.4 USM
ƒ/1.4 50.0 mm 1/1250 1600

Leave a Reply

