Day 1 – Christmas is Over

De-decorating is always a bit sad for me, because it means that Christmas is over. This year I am a little extra sad because I will be dividing up the decorations into three categories: Keep, Sell and Giveaway, as we will be selling our home of 25 years in the next year or two. It is time to downsize all things, including the Santa collection! Each piece has a memory attached to it so this will not be an easy task, but I am a believer in keeping my memories in my mind and heart, and not so much physically anymore. The saying, “You can’t take it with you” rings true for me so it is time to let go of the “stuff”. I took some shots, only a few, highlighting one for my daily shot (Santa ornament below) and the others you can see on my Flickr account here .

 Canon EOS 60D EF50mm f/1.4 USM ƒ/1.4  50.0 mm 1/100  400


Canon EOS 60D
EF50mm f/1.4 USM
ƒ/1.4 50.0 mm 1/100 400

2 comments

  1. Terri Newmyer · January 2, 2015

    It will be hard. I did this a few years ago.

    Like

  2. Julieann O'Connor Spencer · January 3, 2015

    I think the best place to keep memories is not to accumulate physical reminders but to tuck them away in our hearts, this is where they stay beautiful, undamaged…true.

    Like

Leave a Reply

